Confidence Change

Well, last night marked the “habit forming” time period. I was scared I wouldn’t make it through the past three weeks. But I made it 21 days, and I haven’t missed a workout. When I walk into the gym, I feel confident. I feel like I’m at home. Compared to the first day I went…that’s a HUGE change.

I’m more willing to try out exercises, and I LOVE the free weights. It took me about a week to build up the courage to even step foot into the free weight section (and even then, I made sure to go at 11pm, so the gym was empty), before that I was only working on machines. Now, the majority of my workout is built around free weights.

I look back on all the times I have joined a gym in the past, and I wonder, “What made me fail?”. I think my failures in the past were due to 2 things:

  • I was only in the gym to lose weight.
  • I was not confident, nor willing to build confidence.

The gym is intimidating. But it shouldn’t be. Once you get over the initial intimidation, it’s a very friendly environment. The first step to getting into a routine is to build confidence. Everyone in the gym that you look at with envy…they all started out where you are.

I’m still getting over the idea of rest days, as well. It’s hard to go from 100% to 0% and then start back over again. I chose a routine that has my rest days on Sunday and Wednesday. To me, it’s the perfect balance. I don’t care to go out on weekends very much, and usually I would spend my days indoors. But now, I’ve been out and about, ready to jump into the gym.

When I wake up in the morning, I can’t wait to go work out. When I get home from work, I quickly eat and make my protein shake, then head to the gym. It’s so natural now, that I can’t believe I never did it before.

I’m feeling confident today, and it’s also “progress picture day”. I’m excited to see the changes I’ve made! I already feel stronger, and I can open the pickle jar all on my own now!

Leave a Reply

