First Deadlift

Yesterday, I finally worked up the courage to deadlift. No machines, just the bar and some heavy weights (well, heavy by my standards). All I can really say, is WOW. The thrill and the excitement, the pride… I haven’t felt this proud of myself in a long time. Because of the arthritis, a lot of exercises are not possible for me without causing damage to my joints. Squatting, for example, is something that I’ve had some difficulty perfecting the form, simply because my knees do not allow for that sort of movement. But deadlifting…I got the form correct, and I fucking did it.

I’ve wanted to do it for so long. I’ve looked on with envy as I see the big muscles in the gym do it. I just never had the confidence, and I didn’t want to fuck it up if I didn’t have the proper form. Thanks to my trainer (and friend of 8 years), along with a nearly empty gym…I did it.

Holy shit. I can’t believe my workouts have been missing this. I’ve read women who did their first deadlift, and never looked back. I didn’t understand how one exercise could change everything. But I get it. I get the trill. I can’t wait for back/bicep day again. I can’t wait to see where I am in a year.

Dammit, I can’t wait to lift heavy shit.

Leave a Reply

